Who could be so lucky?

I’ve said it before, Olive is so much more than her encephalitis.  I am constantly reminded of this.  It’s interesting, troublesome really, to live with a dog who has an illness that could either continue into remission indefinitely or could relapse without a moments notice.  There is this consistent, ever-growing love that blossoms into the most beautiful relationship fertilized by love, worry, dedication, and patience.

I am constantly reminded that “Olive is lucky to have me,” in which I have grown accustom to respond with “I am lucky to have her.” And I truly believe that.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand that many would not choose to make such an investment into this incredible and amazing journey.  I think what is too often forgotten is that I not only made the commitment to Olive, Olive made the commitment to me.  She trusts me, loves me, enjoys my company, and constantly reminds me that she appreciates us.  As in, she really loves the relationship she created with me. To her we are one.  We travel together, lay together, play together, eat together, what I do she must do as well.

I came to reflect on this special relationship today after visiting an antique store.  While browsing the endless emotion-filled isles of memories I gravitated towards a plate inscribed with the words “His Masters Voice” along with a picture of a dog looking into a gramophone.  I could, initially, tell you nothing of the history, but I could see the love in the dogs eyes. My heart was sold.  As it turned out, the painting was originally created by an artist who inherited his late brother’s dog and gamaphone.  The artist would play a recording of his late brother’s voice over the gamaphone to the dog “Nipper.”  Nipper’s response was that of any dog, he gazed into the gamaphone longing to remember his owner, hoping to see his face again.  He remembered the “us.”  For those moments I will assume that Nipper felt as though he was one with his beloved owner again.

It’s hard for me to understand the minds of those who wouldn’t give their heart and soul to such loving animals.  I may never understand, what I do understand is that I am lucky.  I am so very lucky that Olive chose me.

image

“Who could be so lucky?  Who comes to a lake for water and sees the reflection of moon.” – Rumi

10 thoughts on “Who could be so lucky?

  1. There are tears in my eyes.

    That’s such a beautiful way to remember the human-animal bond as being so much more than “I take care of you, you take care of me” type logistics. It’s love in the eyes, fullness of the heart, and greatness in the joy for each other <3. Glad you bought the art. It looks like Olive loves it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the kind comment. I really do think our animals are more than what they are often given credit for. They really do adore us and the relationship we have with them. Just one look in their eyes tells us that, as you know.

      And I think Olive loved the plate because it involved posing for treats. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Your Olive is a sweetie. I can well imagine the sadness of losing her to this disease but you will have so many wonderful memories and Olive will never leave you. In the meantime, enjoy the moment. Love your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you for the kind comment. My hopes are Olive never leaves me because of this disease. I hope Olive and I can grow older together for years to come.
      You are right, however long I have with Olive, however she leaves me, we will never truly be apart.

      Like

  3. Olive is so adorable and the story about the plate, too. True love and precious bond. I bought some old records on a fleemarket because of this lovely hearing his masters voice picture on them.

    Like

Leave a comment